top of page

Journal 4: More Thoughts

Looking back, I’ve noticed some patterns within my work for last years project. Most pieces seem to fall under a pink palette, and have blues and cool tones for emphasis and contrast. That made me think of how maybe I could do everything I do this year under a certain color scheme.

Another thing I’ve noticed is that in a lot of things I’ve been drawing recently, there seems to be some association to water. I don’t know if this has any significance, but it might be interesting to see if my project naturally revolves around that as well.

In terms of themes: some ideas I have been thinking about involve identity, so that might be a broad topic that my pieces could fall under. However, I’m not 100% sure if I do want that, and even identity is quite a broad topic and could be narrowed down in various types of identity

In terms of mediums: I think I mainly want to do more physical pieces. Maybe not large scale, not sure yet, but I definitely want to use oil paint on wood for one. I’ve done some oil paintings on Bristol paper lately and I really like the effect/texture and how it dries so I think wood would have a similar effect/finish.


© julia liu emc 2017-2018

  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Tumblr Icon
  • Twitter Clean
bottom of page